Realizing that today is one of the last October days and that I commented my last blog entry with the title "first october life update" means that I apparently ignored, ähh, forgot this blog for a couple of weeks I guess. But therefore there's also more to tell :) so here we go with the last october update I suppose.
The weeks were just running here in Oslo with my visitors from Germany, exams coming closer, assignments and many friends I wanted to hang out with before this whole exchange will be over ( I promise not to mention too often that time is running towards december!!).
Working on wednesday made me realize that by now my Norwegian really develops and it feels so good. I was waiting for this point where I am self-confident enough to speak "publicly" more than just thanks (takk), hey (hei hei), ha det bra (goodybye) etc. Of course I knew more, but I had this barrier in my mind to really try out whatever I know. It's still not that much and the barrier is still there, but I understand and try to say words more and more each day. Yes, if you think that this actually doesn't matter anyways, cause who speaks Norwegian anyways you may eventually be right. It's still nice to get along better with some knowledge of the language.The answer to how many people speak it by the way should lie somewhere around 5 Million people, since this is round about the number of people living here minus some people living here and not speaking Norwegian plus some exchange students studying this popular language and emigrants. This little fact actually reminds me, that I haven't told you a lot about Norwegian culture or about interesting things I learned here, but that I kept telling my friends over the weekend.
So what have I learned by now:
- Norwegians eat Reindeermeet (poor reindeers :((( )
- Norwegian currency are Krones - 8 Krones equals 1 Euro, which shocks you like crazy at the
beginning. The first question my visitors from Germany asked was: "We just payed 90 Kroners for our train ticket...is that normal? How much did we pay???" (now you can calculate ;))
- Norwegians get one year of parental leave with full pay (Germany has like 14 weeks or so), if their first child gets sick, they get up to 10 days off work in order to take care of them and 15 for two children and also mothers get one hour per day for breastfeeding off - I should get my 4 kids here I guess!
- you should calcuate manyyy hours for a short car ride, cause the tempolimit is always lower than tempolimits in Germany (if there is a tempolimit) or the roads are up and down the mountain and the road is big enough for 1,5 cars in total on a two-sided road..
- 50% of the Norwegians I met try to talk some German words they used to learn in school, fortunetly, it's often the same level our Norwegian is ;)
- gender equality as it's best -> guys don't pay drinks for girls, maybe as the most a beer :D
- Norwegians have on average the highest number of one-nightstands, we have that saying in Germany "nüchtern zu schüchtern, besoffen zu offen" which could be translated to "sober too shy, drunk too open" which describes their party behavior haha
- Norwegians just generally dress sporty...why? we can't figure it out. Because black tights make girls look thinner? Because sport clothes could indicate a sixpack somewhere under the outfit? Because one always wants to be prepared if some sporty opportunity opens up? I really don't know. But I assume that the avergae Norwegian girl - doing sports or not - has 3 black tights and 3 nike airs etc. in her wardrobe. It's gonna remain a mystery I guess.
Back to my Norwegian experience. Last weekend I had two of my best friends here in Oslo. Sophia - we know each other since we're like a few months old - and Charlotte - studying at the same University back home. Friday morning I picked up the girls from the airport (Lufthavn) and we were sooo lucky with the weather. The week before, Norway treated us with snow.... so I though Sophia and Charlotte will hate me for not picking Spain or Greece for my exchange semester, but the weather cleared up in time for them to come and the sun was greeting them :)
On friday we did some shopping and the girls got some glimpse of the Norwegian Hipster clothes that will probably be sold in Germany in 2-3 years. Also, we went to the Opera House, a must-do in Oslo. Having a view over both the city, the newly constructed "bar code" - some fancy buildings at the port - and the Oslo fjord, the Opera House is a great way to start the sightseeing days :). I feel like it shows the different sides of Oslo. The modernity, the richness, the nature, ...
On friday evening we were invited to one of our International dinners. Our German boys were cooking potato salad and sausages and we had a cheerful evening. Later on, Sophia, Charlotte and me went to a birthday party from a friend and ended the night going out with my friends from the dinner. We had a crazy night that ended with Marius screaming my name through the bus because we fell asleep in the bus. Sightseeing and shopping made us tireeeed! Thanks again for destroying my ears buddy! :P
Us and the Barcode
photo sums up the night
Saturday started (after sleeping in) by taking the t-bane up to the ski jumping piste. On our way up, we met a Norwegian, who told us he studied in Mannheim for one semester a while ago --- the world is so small!! At the beginning we had a lot of fog and couldn't see much, but later on we were able to see over the city and the fjords. Afterwards, we continued our tour to the Vigerlandspark, one of the best spots here. We bought cake before and sat down on a park bench for quiet some while, eating and enjoying the beautiful autumn colors of the trees and bushes. I love this place because it is always full of people, kids running around, tourists imitating the statues, but on the other hand as soon as you get off the main track, the parc is pretty quiet and you will find a calm spot to sit down at. I am glad I took my girls there, cause they really enjoyed it.
Sophia and me being typical tourists and climbing up the statues
For dinner I invited my friend Hannah and we had salmon and pasta. Afterwards, we ended up with quiet some people in our kitchen and went out later on to the city. After a bar and a failed try to get into a bar +23 we ended on a Halloween party, that was a little too drunk and weird for us.
Sunday Charlotte and I were able to convince Sophia to go to a museum, since it was puring all day. We were on our way to the architecture museum, when we passed the Nasjonalmuseet and went in there instead because it seemed to have some interesting exhibitions.
One was about an architect called Louis Kahn, who worked mainly in the US, for example for the Yale University. He made some really impressive buildings, and also cool ideas, such as a building that is made of a DNA structure (which was never built though).
the museum's advertisement for the exhibition
The second exhbition was about an artist called Kjartan Slettemark. I assume he was some crazy-minded dude. His artwork that was exhibited was mainly protest work against the Vietnam War and president Nixon. He had rooms full of Nixon pictures that he reconstructed in certain ways as changing his eyes, etc. Also he had collages demonstrating his opinion about the Vietnam war and the American intervention by using bloody American flags etc.
The museum even had a "Nixon photobooth" were visitors could take a Nixon-picture with themselves in it. I guess, Slettemark would have loved this :-D Hundreds of people every day making fun of the Nixon picture as he did! It was really really interesting, especially how intense his feelings towards Nixon must have been, producing tons of art pieces about him.
Sophia and me in the Nixon photobooth
Now both girls are gone and the next days are full of studying, so that the halloween celebration can take place on the weekend :) Thanks to my girls for being here! :)
I talk to you sooner or later, anyways, have a beautiful day!!